SFC5 | Practical Filming

For this film I want to include a skateboarding sequence that captures the freedom that the main character, Fred, feels when he is riding his board. In order to do this I have drawn out some shots that don’t appear at first to have a straightforward way of being filmed. This has forced me to think carefully about how I am going to achieve these shots and what techniques I might use to capture Fred’s freedom in the most effective way.

18926550_1597987793558364_1923137062_o

This crude drawing of a frugal camera rig I will try to use to capture the shots I need of Fred riding the skateboard. It uses a tripod held upside-down with the camera at the bottom, filming close to the floor. This should provide me with the close up shots of the board in motion that are critical to selling the idea of Fred’s Skateboarding symbolising his freedom.

Leave a Reply

